Annual Report Board of Studies for the MSc Programs 2022-2023 Faculty of Technology, Policy, and Management TU Delft

(Approved by the MSc's BoS, at the meeting of 31 October 2023)

Introduction

In this document, the Board of Studies (BoS) MSc reports about its activities during the academic year 2022-2023. The BoS for the MSc programs of the faculty of Technology, Policy, and Management (TPM) consists of staff and student members of the MSc's of TPM. The three MSc programs are: Complex Systems Engineering and Management (CoSEM), Engineering and Policy Analysis (EPA), and Management of Technology (MoT). The BoS provides solicited and unsolicited advice on the quality of education of the master programs to the dean, the Director of Education, and the Directors of Studies at the TPM faculty. The advice of the BoS is powerful because the students and the staff form a joint position. Besides, the BoS is a formal committee under the Dutch law (see *Annex 1: Formal tasks of the Board*).

Meetings and Formal Matters Dealt With

During the academic year, the BoS MSc consists of six staff members and six student members. In addition, a standing invitation to attend all meetings of the BoS MSc is sent to the Directors of Studies, the TPM Educational Advisor, the Commissioner of Master & Career of Curius (the student association of TPM), and to a member of the Faculty Student Council (FSC). For a comprehensive list of all members for the academic year 2022-2023, please consult *Annex 2: List of Members and Attendees at BoS Meetings 2022-2023*.

In the first meeting on the 11th of October 2022, Geerten van de Kaa was selected as chair and Pascal Kampert as vice-chair. Throughout the academic year, the BoS MSc gathered five times, specifically on October 11, 2022; December 12, 2022; February 14, 2023; May 15, 2023; and June 13, 2023. In response to the post-Covid landscape, these meetings adopted a hybrid format, with members participating both remotely and on-campus.

Main Activities 2022-2023 - Discussions & Recommendations

October 11, 2022

- Established Operating Rules of the Board of Studies for 2022-2023.
- Haiko van der Voort (EPA Director of Studies) introduced curriculum changes for MSc EPA.

December 12, 2022

- Robert Verburg (MOT Director of Studies) introduced curriculum changes for MSc MOT.
- Nikos Pachos-Fokialis (Graduation Coordinator) shared Evasys Thesis survey results;
 identified areas for improvement in student and teacher engagement.
- Approved annual report of the Board of Studies for 2021-2022.

February 14, 2023

- Neelke Doorn (Director of Education) introduced Master 2.0 plan, allowing flexible electives selection in Q1 of the second year, instead of the mandatory predefined tracks.
- Discussed renewal of Educational Management Team structure, including addition of Program Manager alongside Director of Studies (more information on the changes, later in the document).

May 15, 2023

- Discussed draft TU Delft Assessment Framework (The TUD Executive Board will discuss the latest draft document on August 31, 2023); concerns over certain rules' stringency and significance.
- Marinke Sussenbach (Head of TPM department Education and Study Affairs)
 presented Accreditation & Future Strategy outcomes; positive feedback, outlined
 areas for refining thesis length, graduation process, and integrating social science
 skills.

June 13, 2023

- Yilin Huang (teacher) and Pascal Kampert (student) reviewed and provided feedback on TER 2023-2024; final approval is expected August 31, 2023, at the latest.
- Angeniet Kam (ITAV, TPM ChatGPT Workgroup Chair) shared ChatGPT Evaluation findings; acknowledged mixed expert feedback, highlighted responsible usage across TU Delft community.
- Discussed Evasys response rate concerns; explored solutions involving exam and post-lecture responses.

Changes in Educational Management Teams for 2023-2024

Title	Previous	New
CoSEM Director of Studies	Ivo Bouwmans	Geertje Bekebrede
CoSEM Program Manager		Ivo Bouwmans
EPA Director of Studies	Haiko van der Voort	Haiko van der Voort
EPA Program Manager		Özge Okur
MOT Director of Studies	Robert Verburg	Sander Smit
MOT Program Manager		Vacant

Annex 1: Formal Tasks of the Board

The tasks of the Board of Studies are described in the Higher Education and Research Act (WHW, Article 9.18). These tasks are:

- 1. To exercise its right of approval of the Teaching and Examination Regulations (TER) of each of the three MSc programs of the faculty insofar as these regulations concern: (a) the way in which the teaching in the program is evaluated, (b) the contents of the program, (c) the final attainment levels of the program, (d) the organization of practical exercises, insofar as necessary, (e) the study load of the program and of its components, (f) the assessment of whether the program exceeds a size of 60 EC, and (g) the way students are selected for the tracks of the program, insofar as the program has tracks.
- 2. To advise on the TER concerning all remaining aspects.
- 3. To annually assess how the TER has been implemented.
- 4. To advise the Program Directors of the three MSc programs and the Dean on all matters that concern the teaching in the three MSc programs.

Annex 2: List of Members and Attendees at BoS Meetings 2022-2023

Staff Members

Name	Title
Geerten van de Kaa (Chair)	MOT Teacher
Geertje Bekebrede	CoSEM Teacher
Jill Slinger	EPA Teacher
Jolien Ubacht (temp. replacement of Natalie van der Wal)	CoSEM Teacher
Laurens Rook	MOT Teacher
Yilin Huang	EPA Teacher

Student Members

Name	Title
Isabella Hoppe	MOT Student, First Year
Maaike van Kesteren	CoSEM Student, Second Year
Madalin Simion	EPA Student, First Year
Pascal Kampert (Vice-Chair)	EPA Student, Second Year
Sibel Gokbekir	CoSEM Student, First Year
Theodosis Athanasakis (Minute-Taker)	MOT Student, Second Year

Regular Attendees

Name Title	
Haiko van der Voort	EPA Director of Studies
Ivo Bouwmans	CoSEM Director of Studies
Lisa Rijnbeek	Curius, Commissioner Master Education
Robert Verburg	MOT Director of Studies
Veronica Aerden	FSC Representative
Wendela Louwerse-Houtzager	Educational Advisor

Occasional Attendees

Name	Title	
Angeniet Kam	ITAV,Chair of the TPM ChatGPT Workgroup	
Dorukhan Yeşilli	Teaching Assistant, ICT Supporter because of the Hybrid Meeting	
Floris van der Heijde	MSc EPA Commissioner of Education of Dentatus	
Leonard in 't Veen	Teaching Assistant, ICT Supporter because of the Hybrid Meeting	
Marinke Sussenbach	Head of TPM department Education and Study Affairs	
Neelke Doorn	Director of Education	
Nikos Pachos-Fokialis	Graduation Coordinator	