

EAEPE-Myrdal Prize 2013

The European Association for Evolutionary Political Economy (EAEPE) has awarded the 2013 EAEPE-Myrdal Prize to Servaas Storm and C. W. M. Naastepad for their 2012 book, "Macroeconomics beyond the NAIRU" (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press).

"This book goes beyond the usual scope of macro analyses. While in its model-based and econometric approach it demonstrates a virtuosic command of sophisticated formalisms, it also succeeds to take into account not only regulation and other policy issues but also to take up aspects considered "non-economic" in macroeconomics for too long, such as employees' well-being, fairness, and equality issues, so often overlooked in macro analyses. The book is always empirically grounded and works with broad empirical assessments. It is unique in its interplay between conventional modeling and econometric testing on the one hand and a number of innovative questions for a future macroeconomics on the other.

Despite its rigor, its formalisms are accessible and its writing style is clear and enjoyable."

Wolfram Elsner
Professor of Economics, University of Bremen, Germany
EAEPE President 2012-13

Link to EAEPE: https://eaepe.org/?page=awards&side=eaepemyrdal-prize&sub=past

Link to HUP: http://www.hup.harvard.edu/catalog.php?isbn=9780674062276