Objective and Policy

Stichting The Leen van Wijngaarden Prize for Excellence in Fluid Mechanics

(founder prof.dr.ir. Lambertus Hesselink)

Objective

To create a prize in honour of Professor Leen van Wijngaarden for his lifelong devotion to educating students and excellence/world leadership in Fluid Mechanics research.

Details

The Leen van Wijngaarden Prize is awarded for the best contribution to Fluid Mechanics in The Netherlands for a researcher less than 40 years of age affiliated with one of the groups of the J.M. Burgerscentrum.

a. Awarded every four years at the Burgers Symposium, the annual meeting of the JM Burgerscentrum

b. Prize € 5,000

Selection Committee

- 1. Prof.dr.ir. L Hesselink (chairman)
- 2. Prof.dr.ir. L van Wijngaarden
- 3. NN (the Burgers Lecturer in the year of the award)
- 4. Prof.dr.ir. CJ van Duijn (chairman of the Board of the JM Burgerscentrum)
- 5. Prof.dr.ir. GJF van Heijst (scientific director of the JM Burgerscentrum)

Management

The JM Burgerscentrum will manage and distribute the Prize every four years.